Sustainable design decisions

Sound Life Cycle Assessments for sustainable design decisions

Electronic devices with a long service life can make an important contribution to a sustainable society. Fraunhofer IZM supports manufacturers in developing these kinds of product concepts, and in optimizing them to be environmentally friendly. The comprehensive life cycle assessment of the modular Fairphone 2 was able to demonstrate the environmental effects of producing a smartphone as well as how a modular approach can lead to a reduced environmental footprint.

The carbon footprint, as a measure of the Fairphone 2’s contribution to climate change over a service life of three years, is the equivalent of approximately 44 kg of CO2 . 80 percent of this is generated in the manufacturing phase. The complex manufacture of semiconductor devices and circuit boards is responsible for most of the CO2 production. The modularization of the smartphone also places other stresses on the environment, particularly in the case of board-to-board connectors and modular housings.

The increase in circuit board area needed for the additional plug connectors also has an effect on the environmental life cycle impacts. All the same, these environmental effects are more than compensated for if users can fi x their own device should it become damaged in a simpler and cheaper way by replacing individual modules, thus keeping the device in use. Compared to the electronic parts, the display and the battery make a lesser contribution to greenhouse gas emissions, but are frequently the components that dictate the device’s service life. That is why it ought to be easy to replace the battery as its capacity dwindles and the display if it gets damaged in order to keep using the electronic parts for as long as possible. Modularization also offers the ability to upgrade a smartphone to allow it to »grow« with users’ requirements, instead of having to replace it with a new device. This does, however, increase the demands on a device with regard to long-term compatibility and reliability.

In any event, the lessons learned from a sound life cycle assessment make it easier to make design decisions, adapt product and business strategies, and derive priorities for eco-optimization of individual manufacturing priorities.

Sound Life Cycle Assessments for sustainable design decisions - Fraunhofer IZM / fairphone
© Photo Fraunhofer IZM

How can the life-cycle assessment of smartphones be improved?

More information

Key Research Areas

Environmental Evaluation

Eco-design | Life-cycle | Carbon footprints | Eco reliability

Annual Report

Highlights 2016/17

Sustainable design decisions - Highlight in the Annual Report

Projects at glance

Projects of the Environmental & Reliability Engineering Department

Ökobilanzen

Mit fundierten Ökobilanzen zu nachhaltigen Designentscheidungen

Langlebige Elektronikgeräte können einen wichtigen Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigen Gesellschaft leisten. Das Fraunhofer IZM unterstützt Hersteller bei der Entwicklung und Umweltoptimierung entsprechender Produktkonzepte. Dank einer umfassenden Ökobilanz des modularen Fairphone 2 konnte aufgezeigt werden, mit welchen Umweltauswirkungen die Produktion eines Smartphones verbunden ist und wie ein modularer Ansatz zu einer verbesserten Ökobilanz führen kann.

Der CO2 -Fußabdruck als Maßzahl für den Beitrag zum Klimawandel des Fairphone 2 über eine Lebensdauer von drei Jahren beträgt etwa 44 kg CO2 -Äquivalente. Davon werden 80 Prozent bereits in der Herstellungsphase verursacht. Den wesentlichen Anteil liefern die aufwändig gefertigten Halbleiterbauelemente und die Leiterplattenherstellung. Auch die Modularisierung des Smartphones verursacht zunächst weitere Umweltlasten, insbesondere für Board-zu-Board-Stecker und Modulgehäuse.

Die zusätzliche Leiterplattenfl äche für die hinzukommenden Steckverbinder macht sich ebenfalls in der Ökobilanz bemerkbar. Andererseits werden diese Umweltauswirkungen mehr als ausgeglichen, wenn die Nutzer das Gerät im Schadensfall deutlich einfacher und kostengünstig durch den Austausch einzelner Module selber reparieren und somit in Verwendung halten können. Display und Batterie tragen gegenüber den Elektronikbaugruppen vergleichsweise weniger zum Treibhauspotenzial bei, sind jedoch häufi g die lebensdauerbegrenzenden Komponenten. Daher sollten die Batterie bei nachlassender Kapazität und das Display im Schadensfall einfach austauschbar sein, um die elektronischen Baugruppen möglichst lange verwenden zu können. Modularisierung bietet zudem die Möglichkeit, ein Smartphone aufzurüsten, so dass es mit den Bedürfnissen der Nutzer »mitwächst«, statt durch ein neues Gerät ersetzt zu werden. Damit steigen jedoch auch die Anforderungen an Langzeitkompatibilität und Zuverlässigkeit.

In jedem Fall helfen die Erkenntnisse aus einer fundierten Ökobilanz dabei, Designentscheidungen zu treffen, Produkt- und Geschäftsstrategien anzupassen und Prioritäten für eine ökologische Optimierung einzelner Herstellungsprozesse abzuleiten.

Mit fundierten Ökobilanzen zu nachhaltigen Designentscheidungen - Fraunhofer IZM / fairphone
© Foto Fraunhofer IZM

Wie kann man die Ökobilanz von Smartphones verbessern?

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Umweltbewertung

Ökodesign | Lebenszyklusmodellierung | Carbon Footprinting | Eco-Reliability 

Jahresbericht

Highlights 2016/17

Fundierte Ökobilanzen - Highlight im aktuellen Jahresbericht 

Projekte

Alles auf einen Blick

Alle Projekte der Abteilung Environmental & Reliability Engineering