Key Research Areas

3D Packaging on Component Level

To satisfy microelectronics needs for higher integration density in the future, there will be the need to go beyond planar integration of components/functional blocks on wafer or module level – the third dimension is and will be the next big thing in electronic packaging …

Reliability, Evaluation, Tests and Optimization

Accelerated tests can be used in order to simulate the thermal, climatic and mechanical field stresss of electronic assemblies. In combination with FEM- calculation a life-time prediction can be derived. Failure analysis can be used for optimization of material choice and/or technology.

Packaging for Power Electronics

Besides traditional die attach soldering and Al heavy wire bonding, new packaging concepts are pursued to build power electronics systems designed to provide improved thermal performance and higher reliability. By replacing the wire bond with an area contact on both sides of the chips the thermal performance can be improved.

Power Electronics and Packaging Development

By adapting the packaging technology used, power electronic systems can be optimized for customer requirements. Our research group’s system development also addresses packaging questions.

Photonic Packaging

Fraunhofer IZM’s research into photonics for communication and sensor systems, in which we combine optoelectronics and microoptics, has a three-fold aim: miniaturization, improving efficiency and increasing functionality.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

3D-Integration auf Bauteilebene

Um den Marktanforderungen in Mikroelektronik und Mikrosystemtechnik nach immer höherer Packungsdichte zu genügen, wird es zukünftig nicht mehr ausreichen, die Integration von Funktionskomponenten auf Modul- oder Chipebene durch planare Positionierung zu betreiben – zukünftig wird die dritte Dimension auch im Electronic Packaging an Bedeutung gewinnen …

Bewertung, Test und Optimierung von Zuverlässigkeit

Durch beschleunigende Testverfahren ist eine Simulation der thermischen, klimatischen und mechanischen Feldbelastungen möglich, um in Kombination mit FEM- Berechnungen eine Lebensdauervorhersage ableiten zu können. Die anschließenden Fehleranalysen ermöglichen eine Optimierung von Materialauswahl und/oder Technologie.

AVT für Leistungselektronik

Der Aufbau von Leistungsmodulen umfasst heute nicht nur das flächige Löten und Al-Dickdrahtbonden. Neue Aufbaukonzepte mit optimiertem thermischen Design wie die doppelseitige Kühlung sind genauso in der Entwicklung wie neue Verbindungstechnologien, von denen man sich eine höhere Lebensdauer erhofft.

Leistungselektronik- und Package-Entwicklung

Leistungselektronische Systeme lassen sich durch eine gezielt angepasste Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik in ihrem Kundennutzen optimieren. In der Arbeitsgruppe LE-AVT werden Systementwicklungen durchgeführt, die einen Anteil an AVT-Aufgabenstellungen beinhalten.

Photonic Packaging

Am Fraunhofer IZM steht Photonik für die Integration von Optoelektronik und Mikrooptik mit dem Ziel der Miniaturisierung, Effizienzsteigerung und Funktionssteigerung von Systemen für Kommunikation und Sensorik.