Environmental & Reliability Engineering

New products and technologies have to comply with an increasing range of strict specifications, and at the same time have to be cost-efficient and environmentally friendly.  The Department Environmental and Reliability Engineering supports technological developments until they reach market maturity with environmental and reliability analysis reaching from nano-characterisation level to evaluation and optimisation at the system level. Under the leadership of Dr. Nils F. Nissen, a unique combination is achieved between the established cross-sectional specialist fields of reliability and sustainability.

In view of worldwide extending markets and limited resources, every new generation of products and technologies must generate more functionality and assured reliability while consuming fewer resources.  Without adequate reliability, the commercial success of an application is anyway endangered, and at the same time the environmental impactof typically production-intensive microelectronics is increases furtherby premature failures or the need for replacements.  Sustainable electronic technologies must therefore be reliable and have a low environmental impact.

Key Research Areas

 

Materials Characterization and Modeling

A comprehensive thermo-mechanical reliability assessment of complex electronic systems in the micro/nano range requires extensive experimental back-up for the use of simulation tools. We provide full material characterisation and examination in combination with simulation and optimisation.
 

Reliability: simulation, test and optimization

Thermomechanicallife-time models are required for a simulation-based "Design for Reliability". The basis is provided by combined, accelerated stress tests in combination with simulations and modern analysis and optimisation processes.

 

Condition Monitoring of Electronics

The prediction and calculation of failure rates and lifetimesof electronic systems due to ageing and overload requires a top-down evaluation of the reliability of entire systems. The system includesthe superordinate system, sub-systems, the components and connection technologies.Therefore it is necessary to take the environmental conditions and intrinsic interactions into account.

 

Application-specific system evaluation

The reliability of electrical, electronic and mechatronic systems require a comprehensive consideration of products, production processes and business processes. Therefore expertise and management knowledge need to be applied, together with suitable management tools/methodologies.

 

EcoDesign and circular technologies

Step by step towards sustainable innovation within the ICT value chain.

 

Environmental assessment for electronic systems

The Environmental evaluation and eco-design group is working on the methodology of the evaluation and environmental optimisation of electronic products.

 

Environmental Legislation: RoHS, WEEE, EcoDesign

The requirements of environmental legislation can place considerable demands on product development, but they can also open up market opportunities for forward-looking companies.

 

Corrosion, electrochemical migration, moisture diffusion

Investigate moisture-based failures of electronics such like corrosion or migration damage.

Equipment

The Department Environmental and Reliability Engineering has laboratories with state-of-the-art equipment and advanced test environments at its Berlin location. In addition to a high degree of flexibility in the combination of test parameters (vibration, shock, temperature, humidity, power cycles, etc.), we offer you a broad spectrum of analysis of environmental parameters as well as simulation of the interconnection technology of your electronic applications. In addition, with the Micro Materials Testing Lab, we have a test portfolio that enables material-side predictions about the reliability of complex systems in the micro/nano range.

 

Active Power Cycling Lab

Quality assurance of power electronics is an essential factor in product reliability. The active power cycling test provides instant lifetime data for power modules.

 

Corrosion Analysis Lab

Electrochemical characterization of materials and their composites with regard to their corrosion behavior depending on the electrolyte exposure occurring in the application.

 

Electronics Condition Monitoring Lab

Vibrationmeasurement and testwith electronic components, if required in combination with humidity and temperature loads. Contactless vibration measurements withlaser vibrometer. In-situ monitoring of the failure of electronic components.

 

Micro Materials Testing Lab

Mechanical forces, temperature changes and moisture effects can impair reliability considerably. For successful optimisation of the reliability of complex systems inthe micro/nano range it is necessary to have knowledge about the failure behaviour of materials and of damage development.

 

Thermal & Environmental Analysis Lab

In order to characterise thermal interface materials (TIM) a system was set up for determining heat conductivity and thermal resistances dependent on compression force. Infrared imaging measurement techniques make it possible to measure temperatures without contact, and to detect errors in systems or components.
 

High Performance Computing Cluster

Increased demands on the robustness and durability of electronic components, as well as increasingly short innovation cycles mean that development methods are required which can lead to a reliable overall system in a short time. The use of simulation models offers the opportunity to visualise interrelationships.

Newsletter

Projects of the Department of Environmental and Reliability Engineering

Contacts

Events and industry fair presence newsletter

If you like to keep in touch with us, please fill in the following online form for the topic you are interested in.

Environmental & Reliability Engineering

Neue Produkte und Technologien müssen immer vielfältigere und härtere Anforderungen erfüllen und sollen gleichzeitig kosteneffizient und umweltschonend sein. Die Abteilung Environmental and Reliability Engineering unterstützt technische Entwicklungen auf dem Weg zur Marktreife durch Umwelt- und Zuverlässigkeitsuntersuchungen von der Nanocharakterisierung bis zur Bewertung und Optimierung auf Systemebene. Unter der Leitung von Dr. Nils F. Nissen sind hier die etablierten Querschnittskompetenzen Zuverlässigkeit und Nachhaltigkeit in bisher einmaliger Weise zusammengeführt.

Vor dem Hintergrund von weltweitem Wachstum und begrenzten Ressourcen muss jede neue Technologie- und Produktgeneration aus weniger Ressourcenverbrauch mehr Funktionalität und eine abgesicherte Zuverlässigkeit generieren. Ohne adäquate Zuverlässigkeit ist der wirtschaftliche Erfolg einer Anwendung ohnehin gefährdet, und gleichzeitig wird bei den typischerweise herstellungsintensiven Produkten der Mikroelektronik die Umweltbilanz durch vorzeitigen Ausfall oder Ersatz massiv verschlechtert. Nachhaltige Elektroniktechnologien müssen daher umweltgerecht und zuverlässig sein.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

 

Materialcharakterisierung und Entwicklung von Zuverlässigkeitsmodellen

Zuverlässigkeitsmodelle, die auf validierten Materialeigenschaften basieren, werden entwickelt und angewandt, um zuverlässige elektronische Komponenten auf der Grundlage eines Design for Reliability (DfR) Ansatzes zu realisieren.

 

Zuverlässigkeit: Simulation, Test und Optimierung

Thermomechanische Lebensdauermodelle werden benötigt, um ein simulationsgestütztes „Design for Reliability“ zu ermöglichen. Die Grundlage wird durch moderne kombinierte und beschleunigte Belastungstests in Verbindung mit Simulationen und modernen Analyse- und Optimierungsverfahren gelegt.

 

Zustandsüberwachung von Elektronik

Die Vorhersage von Alterung und Ausfällen im Feld erfordert eine „Top-Down“-Betrachtung der Zuverlässigkeit ganzer Systeme, also oberhalb der Teilsysteme der Verbindungstechnik und der Bauelemente, unter Berücksichtigung der Umweltbedingungen und intrinsisch entstehender wechselwirkender Belastungen.
 

Applikationsspezifische Systembewertung

Die Zuverlässigkeit elektrischer, elektronischer und mechatronischer Systeme erfordert eine zusammenfassende und übergreifende Betrachtung von Produkten, Produktions- und Geschäftsprozessen. Wechselseitig sind Experten- und Managementwissen bzw. die geeigneten Instrumente anzuwenden.

 

ÖkoDesign und kreislaufgerechte Technologien

Schritt für Schritt zur nachhaltigen Innovation innerhalb der IKT-Wertschöpfungskette.

 

Umweltbewertung für Elektroniksysteme

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt Umweltbewertungen und Ökodesign umfasst die methodische Seite zur Bewertung und Umweltoptimierung von Elektronikprodukten.
 

Umweltgesetzgebung: RoHS, WEEE, ÖkoDesign

Die umweltgesetzlichen Vorgaben stellen hohe Anforderungen an die Produktentwicklung, erlauben vorausschauenden Unternehmen aber auch Marktvorteile.
 

Corrosion, electrochemical migration, moisture diffusion

Investigate moisture-based failures of electronics such like corrosion or migration damage.

Ausstattung

Die Abteilung Environmental and Reliability Engineering verfügt am Standort Berlin über Labore mit modernster Ausstattung und fortschrittlichen Testumgebungen. Neben einer hohen Flexibilität bei der Kombination von Testparametern (Vibration, Schock, Temperatur, Feuchte, Powerzyklen usw.) bieten wir Ihnen ein breites Spektrum der Analyse von Umweltparametern sowie der Simulation der Verbindungstechnik Ihrer elektronischen Anwendungen. Darüber verfügen wir mit dem Micro Materials Testing Lab über ein Testportfolio, das werkstoffseitige Voraussagen über die Zuverlässigkeit von komplexen Systemen im Mikro/Nano-Bereich ermöglicht.

 

Active Power Cycling Lab

Qualitätssicherung an Leistungselektronik ist wesentlicher Bestandteil der Produktabsicherung. Der elektrische Lastwechseltest (Active Power Cycling) liefert umgehend Daten zur Lebensdauer von Leistungshalbleitermodulen.

 

Corrosion Analysis Lab

Elektrochemischen Charakterisierung von Materialien und deren Verbünde in Bezug auf ihr Korrosionsverhalten in Abhängigkeit von den in der Anwendung auftretenden Elektrolytbelastungen

 

Electronics Condition Monitoring Lab

Durchführung von Vibrationsmessungen und -tests mit elektronischen Baugruppen, bei Bedarf in Verbindung mit Feuchte- und Temperaturbeanspruchung. Berührungslose Schwingungsmessung mit Laservibrometern. In-Situ-Erfassung des Ausfalls der elektronischen Baugruppen.
 

Micro Materials Testing Lab

Mechanische Kräfte, Temperaturänderungen und Feuchtigkeitseinflüsse können die Zuverlässigkeit wesentlich beeinflussen. Für eine erfolgreiche Optimierung der Zuverlässigkeit von komplexen Systemen im Mikro/Nano-Bereich sind werkstoffseitig Kenntnisse vom Versagensverhalten bzw. Kenntnisse zur Schädigungsentwicklung erforderlich.
 

Thermal & Environmental Analysis Lab

Um thermische Interface-Materialien (TIM) charakterisieren zu können, entstand ein Arbeitsplatz zur Bestimmung von Wärmeleitfähigkeiten und thermischen Widerständen in Abhängigkeit der Anpresskraft. Die bildgebende Infrarot-Messtechnik erlaubt uns, berührungslos Temperaturen und Fehler in Systemen, Baugruppen oder Bauteilen zu detektieren.
 

High Performance Computing Cluster

Erhöhte Anforderungen an die Robustheit und Lebensdauer elektronischer Bauelemente sowie immer kürzere Innovationszyklen bedürfen Entwicklungsmethoden, die in kurzer Zeit zu einem zuverlässigen Gesamtsystem führen. Der Einsatz von Simulationsmodellen bietet hier die Möglichkeit, Zusammen­hänge sichtbar zu machen.

Mehr Informationen

Kontaktpersonen

Projekte der Abteilung Environmental and Reliability Engineering

Newsletter zu Veranstaltungen & Messen

Möchten Sie per E-Mail über Veranstaltungen und Messeauftritte aus dem Bereich Environmental and Reliability Engineering informiert werden? Dann tragen Sie sich einfach in die Mailingliste des gewünschten Themenbereichs ein.