Wafer Bonding, Thinning, Thin Wafer Handling

The fabrication of ultra flat devices and stacked system architectures is becoming more important ever. In this context technologies for extreme wafer thinning, thin wafer handling and thin wafer backside processing are imperative to enable 3-dimensional system architectures based on through silicon vias (TSVs).

Fraunhofer IZM is focusing its research on temporary wafer support systems based on adhesive wafer to wafer bonding of product and carrier wafers. With this approach, wafers can be thinned and handled without the necessity of adaptions on existing tools and process steps. Such systems enable wafer thinning as well as reliable support of thin wafers during standard processes like CVD and PVD, lithography, wet and dry etching, electroplating and polymer curing as well as an easy de-bonding of the temporary support wafer from the device wafer after final processing including residue free adhesive removal.

Due to the special design of carrier wafers, adhesives and de-bonding equipment different release mechanisms are possible to finally separate both wafers from each other after the processing was finished. Basic methods are solvent or laser release without heat using special designed glass carrier wafers as well as zone bond or slide-off release at elevated temperatures. All methods have their particular pros and cons and are evaluated carefully also in correlation with the corresponding kind of customer wafer to be bonded and de-bonded with them.

Based on the configuration of the customer wafer (surface materials and topography, thickness, kind of processes to be applied) as well as the subsequent sample treatment like second level assembly of components, the most suitable handling concept and wafer support system can be chosen. Even the cascaded use of the same support system or the combination of different style temporary wafer handling systems is possible to enable thin wafer transfer bonding.

50 µm thin 200 mm Silicon Interposer Wafer
50 µm thin 300 mm Silicon Interposer Wafer with Cu-RDL metallization
Temporaray wafer bonding approaches

R& D Services

With in this research field, the department WLSI offers a broad spectrum of services. For specific questions do not hesitate to contact us.

  • Extreme thinning and stress relief of silicon wafers with different type of front side topography
  • Back side processing of thin wafers with different front side topography including isolation / passivation, high density redistribution, contact formation
  • Multiple thin wafer transfer to enable alternated front and backside processing
  • Chip to thin wafer assembly
  • Temporary support of thin chips during assembly
  • Stacking of thin components at wafer level and component level
  • Temporary Bonding: device wafer thickness > 20 μm, solvent release, slide-off release, laser release
  • Enhanced dicing technologies (dicing streets > 20 μm)

Wafer-Bonden, Dünnen, Handling gedünnter Wafer

Die Herstellung dünner Komponenten und dreidimensionaler Systemarchitekturen gewinnt zunehmend an Bedeutung. Hierbei sind Technologien für das Waferdünnen, das Handling und die Rückseitenprozessierung von dünnen Wafern unabdingbar für die Realisierung von dreidimensionalen Systemaufbauten mit Through-Silicon-Vias (TSVs).

Fraunhofer IZM hat verschiedene Verfahren zum temporären Bonden und Lösen von Siliziumwafern auf Trägerwafer etabliert. Durch diese Verfahren können Wafer extrem gedünnt sowie dünne Wafer bearbeitet werden, ohne Anpassungen an existierenden Maschinen, Prozessen und Bearbeitungsschritten vornehmen zu müssen. Die Technologieansätze ermöglichen das Waferdünnen und zuverlässigen Support der dünnen Wafer während Standardprozessen wie CVD und PVD, Lithographie, Nass- und Trockenätzen, Mikrogalvanik, Polymer-Curing sowie ein einfaches Debonden der temporären Trägerwafer vom Device-Wafer nach der letzten Prozessierung inklusive rückstandslose Kleberentfernung.

Beim temporären Bonden werden die Prozesswafer unter Verwendung spezieller Klebeschichten mit Ihrer Vorderseite gegen Trägerwafer geklebt. Durch die Verklebung mit den Trägerwafern erfolgt eine mechanische Stabilisierung und Versteifung der Prozesswafer wodurch diese sehr stark abgedünnt sowie rückseitig bearbeitet werden können. Die anschließende Entfernung der Trägerwafer von den Prozesswafern wird durch spezielle Einwirkung auf die Kleberschichten erreicht, die mittels Laserbelichtung, durch Lösungsmittel oder bei erhöhter Temperatur mechanisch erfolgt.

Abhängig von der Konfiguration des Kundenwafers (Oberflächenmaterialien und –topographien, Dicke, Art der gewünschten Prozesse) und der nachfolgenden Weiterprozessierung wie ein „second level“-Assembly von Komponenten kann das passendste Handlingskonzept und Wafer-Trägersystem ausgewählt werden. Es ist auch eine stufenartige Nutzung des gleichen Trägersystems oder aber auch eine Kombination von unterschiedlichen temporären Wafer-Handlingsystemen möglich, um ein Transferbonden gedünnter Wafer zu realisieren.

50 µm thin 200 mm Silicon Interposer Wafer

50 µm thin 300 mm Silicon Interposer Wafer with Cu-RDL metallization

Temporaray wafer bonding approaches

Leistungsangebot

Innerhalb dieses Forschungsgebietes bietet die Abteilung eine Vielzahl von Leistungen an. Für spezifische Fragen kontaktieren Sie uns!

  • Dünnen und "Stress Relief" von Silizium-Wafern mit unterschiedlichen Topographien auf Vorder- und Rückseite
  • Rückseitenprozessierung von gedünnten Wafern mit unterchiedlichen Vorderseiten-Topographien inclusive Isolierung/Passivierung, hochdichte Umverdrahtung, Ankontaktierung
  •  Transferbonden gedünnter Wafer für eine alternierende Vorder- und Rückseitenbearbeitung
  • Chip-zu-gedünntem-Wafer-Assembly
  • Temporäre Stabilisierung dünner Chips während des Assemblierens
  • Stapeln von dünnen Komponenten auf Wafer-Level und Komponenten-Level
  • Temporäres Bonden: Device-Wafer-Dicke > 20 μm, solvent release, slide-off release, laser release
  • Enhanced Sägetechnologien (Sägestraßen > 20 μm)