Master_3D

3D process technology for innovative system in package (3D-SiP) solutions

MAnufacturing Solutions Targeting competitive European pRoduction in 3D (Master_3D)

 

The integration density of active components is a key factor in the development of new products. But technical boundaries and rising costs are limiting the structure size reduction. A three-dimensional stacking of chips, combined with wafer level processing, allows a functional extension and an increased complexity of electronic systems within minimum space. The European joint project Master_3D aimed at the establishment of an integrated platform (tools, materials, processes) for the realization of three-dimensional innovative system in package (3D-SiP) solutions. Methods and technologies for highest contact density, thin silicon integration as well as new analytical and test procedures have been developed. This was done focusing on the goal to expand conventional assembly and connection technologies on wafer level into the third dimension, especially considering reliability, performance and process monitoring aspects.

On national level, the german project partners worked on the project 3D-INNOPRO. The project was embedded in the european CATRENE project MASTER_3D and supported and funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).   

Within the project, IZM-ASSID achieved significant results in the development and performance increase of single processes that are technologically important for 3D integration. In cooperation with industrial partners, critical process steps were analyzed and evaluated considering real application scenarios and product requirements. Furthermore, in cooperation with tool suppliers, samples with dedicated 3D structures were produced and used for the evaluation and validation of newly developed process and inline monitoring tools. In collaboration with NXP and Infineon, the achieved project results were applied in application-driven demonstrators which were realized with IZM-ASSID‘s technology line. In the NXP demonstrator, a security controller with an NFC interface (near field communication), an additional new security feature could be implemented by using 3D integration technologies. With this, the overall security level could be raised, too. An extended understanding of the interaction of the individual processes and their effects on the electrical performance could be achieved by various, partly newly developed 3D test structures - a part of them interacting with the active components of the NXP CMOS wafer. The new 3D test structures in combination with the establishment of an enhanced test flow additionally allowed the collection of electrical data for every single 3D process module. With this, dedicated correlations of individual processes to yield detractors could be shown. Furthermore, a new concept for the integration of TSVs as a transistor gate in MOS transistors was initially successfully tested and assessed (vertical N- and P-MOS transistors).

  • ALES (France)
  • ams (Austria)
  • AXO (Germany)
  • CAMTEK (Belgium)
  • CAMTEK (Israel)
  • EVG (Austria)
  • Fogale (France)
  • Infineon (Germany)
  • ISIS sentronics (Germany)
  • NXP (Germany)
  • PVA AS (Germany)
  • Qualtera (France)
  • Rockwood (France)
  • SPTS (France)
  • STM (France)
  • CEA-Leti (France)
  • Fraunhofer (Germany: IZM, IZFP (now IKTS), IISB (now IWMH))
  • CNRS (France)

Security demonstrator with 3D integrated security controller and near field communication chip (NXP). The top side features newly developed 3D test structures which enable an extended 3D process monitoring.

General Project Information

The project Master_3D was funded by CATRENE (EUREKA Cluster for micro and nanoelectronics (2009-2015)).

  • Project start: December 1st, 2012
  • Duration: 3 years (german partners until June 2016)
  • Dissemination: > 40 publications; 2 patents
  • 1 international award: “3D InCites Award”

On national level, the german project partners worked on the project 3D-INNOPRO. The project was embedded in the european CATRENE project MASTER_3D and supported and funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

Master_3D

3D-Prozesstechnologien für innovative System-in-Package (3D-SiP)-Lösungen

MAnufacturing Solutions Targeting competitive European pRoduction in 3D (Master_3D)

 

3D-Prozesstechnologie für innovative System-in-Package (3D-SiP)-Anwendungen Die Integrationsdichte elektronischer Komponenten ist ein Schlüsselelement in der Produktentwicklung. Die notwendige Reduktion der Strukturgrößen ist jedoch durch technische Grenzen und steigende Kosten limitiert. Das dreidimensionale Stacking von Chips, kombiniert mit der Prozessierung auf Waferebene, erlaubt eine funktionale Erweiterung und Erhöhung der Komplexität von elektronischen Systemen auf kleinstem Raum. Ziel des EU-Verbundprojekts Master_3D war die Etablierung einer integrierten Plattform (Anlagen, Materialien, Prozesse) für die Realisierung dreidimensionaler innovativer System-in-Package (3D-SiP)-Lösungen. Damit wurden Methoden und Technologien für höchste Kontaktdichten, dünne Siliziumintegration sowie neue Analytik- und Testverfahren mit der Zielsetzung entwickelt, die konventionelle Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik auf Waferebene und in die dritte Dimension zu erweitern, insbesondere unter Berücksichtigung von Zuverlässigkeit, Leistungsfähigkeit und Prozessmonitoring.

Eingebettet in das europäische CATRENE Projekt MASTER_3D war das Projekt 3D-INNOPRO, welches von den deutschen Projektpartner bearbeitet und vom Bundesminsterium für Bildung und Forschung BMBF gefördert wurde.

Der Institutsteil IZM-ASSID hat im Projekt wesentliche Ergebnisse bei der Entwicklung und Performanceverbesserung von für die 3D-Integration technologisch wichtigen Einzelprozessen erreicht. In Zusammenarbeit mit den Industriepartnern wurden an Anwendungsbeispielen kritische Prozessschritte bezüglich der Produktanforderung analysiert und bewertet, Samples mit relevanten 3D-Strukturen für die Prozesstool- und Analysetoolhersteller geschaffen und die Neuerungen gemeinsam evaluiert und validiert. Auf der Technologielinie des IZM-ASSID wurden die Ergebnisse aus dem Projekt in applikationsgetriebenen 3D-Demonstratoren für die Projektpartner NXP und Infineon angewendet. So stellt der NXP-Demonstrator eine Sicherheitsschaltung mit NFC-Interface (Near Field Communication) dar, in dem mittels 3D-Integration ein zusätzliches Sicherheits-Feature integriert und damit das Sicherheits-Level erhöht wurde. Ein erweitertes Verständnis der Interaktion von Einzelprozessen und deren Auswirkungen auf die elektrische Leistungsfähigkeit konnte mit zahlreichen, teils neu entwickelten dedizierten 3D-Teststrukturen erreicht werden, die zum Teil in Interaktion mit den aktiven Komponenten des NXP-CMOS-Wafers agieren. In Kombination mit der Etablierung eines neuen Testablaufs konnten so für jedes 3D-Prozessmodul elektrische Daten gesammelt und Prozesseinflüsse auf das jeweilige Prozessmodul korreliert werden.

Weiterhin wurde ein neues Konzept zur Integration von TSVs als Transistor-Gate in MOS-Transistoren initial erfolgreich getestet (vertikaler N- und P-MOS-Transistor)

  • ALES (Frankreich)
  • ams (Österreich)
  • AXO (Deutschland)
  • CAMTEK (Belgien)
  • CAMTEK (Israel)
  • EVG (Österreich)
  • Fogale (Frankreich)
  • Infineon (Deutschland)
  • ISIS sentronics (Deutschland)
  • NXP (Deutschland)
  • PVA AS (Deutschland)
  • Qualtera (Frankreich)
  • Rockwood (Frankreich)
  • SPTS (Frankreich)
  • STM (Frankreich)
  • CEA-Leti (Frankreich)
  • Fraunhofer (Deutschland: IZM, IZFP (jetzt IKTS), IISB (jetzt IWMH))
  • CNRS (Frankreich)

Security-Demonstrator mit 3D-integriertem Security-Controller mit Nah-Feld-Kommunikations-Chip (NXP). Auf der Oberseite sind die zusätzlichen neu entwickelten und validierten 3D-Teststrukturen sichtbar, welche ein erweitertes 3D-Prozessmonitoring erlauben

Allgemeine Projektinformationen

Das Projekt Master_3D wurde gefördert durch CATRENE (EUREKA Cluster for micro and nanoelectronics (2009-2015)).

  • Projektstart: 1. Dezember 2012
  • Dauer: 3 Jahre (deutsche Partner bis Juni 2016 )
  • Dissemination: > 40 Publikationen; 2 Patente
  • 1 internationale Auszeichnung: “3Dincities award”

 

Eingebettet in das europäische CATRENE Projekt MASTER_3D war das Projekt 3D-INNOPRO, welches von den deutschen Projektpartner bearbeitet und vom Bundesminsterium für Bildung und Forschung BMBF gefördert wurde.