Staff

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Schneider-Ramelow

Director's Deputy

Professor Martin Schneider-Ramelow, born in the Emsland in 1964, studied materials science at the Technical University of Berlin between 1987 and 1991 and completed his doctorate in materials engineering in 1998.

Between his graduation in 1991 and 1998, he worked as a research associate at the TU Berlin, spending the first year at the Institute of Metallurgy before moving to the Institute for Materials Science and Engineering.

In August 1998, Martin Schneider-Ramelow joined Fraunhofer IZM in Berlin, initially as a Project and Group Leader (Chip and Wire Technologies). From 2008 to 2018, he was in charge of the System Integration and Interconnection Technologies (SIIT) operations, where his track record included an almost two-fold increase of the department’s budget to more than €12 million, with an expansion of the share of industrial projects from approx. 35% to approx. 45%.

Since 2014, he has been teaching as a visiting lecturer at the TU Berlin, where he was appointed as full professor of “Materials for System Integration” in January 2017. Based at the Institute of High-Frequency and Semiconductor System Technologies in the university’s Electrical Engineering and Computer Science department, his work includes the deputy directorship of the Research Centre for Microperipheric Technologies.
In September 2017, Martin Schneider-Ramelow was chosen as the Deputy Director of Fraunhofer IZM, a function he has prioritized since early 2019 to dedicate his professional attention particularly to the strategic direction of the Institute’s activities, including in the coaching and development of the Institute’s staff and the implementation of the strategy audit’s recommendations.

He is also intensifying his work as a doctorate and postgraduate supervisor and actively developing new mentoring programmes.

Martin Schneider-Ramelow is the prolific author and co-author of more than 180 papers in his field and is considered a specialist for the quality and reliability of metallic interconnects and an internationally recognized expert for wire bonding technology. As such, he contributed substantially in his role as the Chair of the working group 2.4 “Bonding” of the German Welding Society DVS to the new edition of the DVS standard 2811. Replacing its predecessor after 20 years, the new document issued in 2017 has become the standard reference for evaluating high-quality wire bonds.

He is also a member of six national and international conference programme committees in the field of electronic packaging, a Senior Member of the IEEE, and Fellow of IMAPS USA, and has recently celebrated his tenth year as the Presiding Chairman of the International Microelectronics and Packaging Society (IMAPS) Germany.

Mitarbeiter

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Schneider-Ramelow

Stellvertretender Institutsleiter

Prof. Martin Schneider-Ramelow, geb. 1964 im Emsland, studierte von 1987 bis 1991 Werkstoffwissenschaften an der Technischen Universität Berlin und promovierte dort im Fachgebiet Werkstofftechnik 1998.

Von 1991 bis 1998 war er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der TU Berlin zunächst für ein Jahr am Institut für Metallurgie, Metallhüttenkunde und dann am Institut für Werkstofftechnik tätig.

Seit August 1998 ist Martin Schneider-Ramelow am Fraunhofer IZM in Berlin beschäftigt, zunächst als Projekt- und Gruppenleiter (Chip and Wire Technologies). Von 2008 - 2018 leitete er dort die Abteilung System Integration and Interconnection Technologies (SIIT), wo u.a. unter seiner Verantwortung in diesem Zeitraum das Abteilungsbudget auf über 12 Mio. Euro nahezu verdoppelt werden konnte und der Industrieanteil von ca. 35% auf ca. 45% stieg.

Seit 2014 hat er außerdem eine Honorarprofessur an der TU Berlin und seit Januar 2017 die Professur für “Werkstoffe der Hetero-Systemintegration“ am Institut für Hochfrequenz- und Halbleiter-Systemtechnologien der Fakultät IV Elektrotechnik und Informatik der TU Berlin inne und leitet den Forschungsschwerpunkt Technologien der Mikroperipherik stellvertretend.

Seit September 2017 ist Martin Schneider-Ramelow außerdem stellvertretender Institutsleiter am Fraunhofer IZM. Seit Anfang 2019 widmet er sich nun prioritär dieser Aufgabe und befasst sich maßgeblich mit der strategischen Ausrichtung der Institutsaktivitäten, etwa auf dem Gebiet des Personalcoachings und der –weiterentwicklung oder in der Nachverfolgung und Umsetzung der Ergebnisse des Strategieaudits.
Darüber hinaus weitet er die Betreuung von Promovenden und Graduierenden aus und entwickelt Mentoring-Programme.

Martin Schneider-Ramelow ist Autor und Co-Autor von über 150 Fachartikeln. Er gilt als Spezialist auf dem Gebiet der Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit von metallischen Interconnects und ist weltweit anerkannt als Experte für Drahtbondverbindungen. So war er als Obmann der Arbeitsgemeinschaft 2.4 „Bonden“ im Deutschen Verband für Schweißen und verwandte Verfahren (DVS) maßgeblich an der Neuverfassung des über 20 Jahre alten DVS-Standards 2811 beteiligt, der nun seit 2017 als Grundlage für die Bewertung von hochqualitativen Drahtbondverbindungen gilt.

Ferner ist er Mitglied von 5 nationalen und internationalen Konferenzprogrammkommissionen auf dem Gebiet des Electronic Packagings, Senior Member IEEE, Fellow IMAPS USA und seit zehn Jahren 1. Vorsitzender der International Microelectronics and Packaging Society (IMAPS) Deutschland.