Electro-optical Circuit Board (EOCB)

© Fraunhofer IZM
Illuminierte Lichtwellenleiter
© Fraunhofer IZM
Prozesskette zur Integration von Lichtwellenleitern in großformatiges Dünnglas
  1. Modern telecommunications needs fast progress in photonic interconnection technology to keep pace with the massive growth of data being transmitted. The effects need to be felt in particular in the data centers that act as the interjections – and often bottlenecks – of this busy traffic system. But even in the field, enormous amounts of data need to be processed and transmitted, e.g. in self-driving cars.
  2. Many areas of research depend on optical sensor technology, typically using either free beams or fiber-routed light. Both choices, however, suffer from reliability and mechanical stability issues and often only offer low integration density.
  3. Quantum technology demands that the materials used in many applications need to be far more dimensionally stable and across a far wider temperature range than ever before, that the packaging is hermetically sealed, and that high transparency can be guaranteed across a broad spectrum of wavelengths.

The Solution

Combining electrical and optical layers in a single circuit board or chip can be a solution to all of these challenges. Fraunhofer IZM produced a first concept of such a combined electro-optical circuit board already in 1999 and has continued to make progress in the field. Since 2003, the necessary optical layer can be produced with commercially available large-format thin glass panels.

Electro-optical circuit boards or EOCB can realize the immense potential of optical signal transmissions for circuit board and chip design. In telecommunications, the waveguides included in the optical layer can receive the signals from fiber conductors and navigate them to their destinations on the circuit board. This combination of electrical and optical layers is currently receiving considerable attention in concepts like co-packaging. In optical sensor technology, waveguides of this type that let light interact specifically with the analytical targets promise a new level of versatility, as do the excellent properties of glass in terms of biocompatibility or chemical reactivity. Integration into thin glass panels offers better mechanical stability when compared to conventional fibers, and it circumvents the need for complex beamforming or guiding structures to allow for more densely packed designs. In quantum technology applications, a combination of electrical and optical functionality in glass also opens up new avenues for moving optical structures onto the system level.

In the past twenty years, Fraunhofer IZM has cooperated closely with research and industry partners to develop a process that can produce electro-optical circuit boards with commercial equipment at the following specifications:

  • Board formats up to 18” x 12”
  • Board thickness 300 to 700µm
  • optical layer
    • Graded index waveguides
    • Mono and multimodal
    • Propagation loss <0.6 dB/cm (@1550nm)
    • transparent at 400 to 1600 nm
  • electrical layer
    • structured metalization layers: Al, Cr, Cu, Tu, Wti
    • line space: up to 3µm
    • galvanization: Ag, Au, Cu, Ni
image LIDAR
© Fraunhofer IZM | Volker Mai
Elektrisch funktionalisiertes Glasboard für eine LIDAR Anwendung

SEPIANet

The project aim was to develop technology solutions for embedded optical architectures in access network head-end systems to allow significant reduction in power consumption, increased energy efficiency, system density and bandwidth scalability, which is currently unfeasible in today's copper driven access network systems.

PhoxTroT

High Performance computing and data centers need to become both more energy efficient and powerful. This ambitious goal is part of the „PhoxTroT“ project of 17 partners and Fraunhofer-institutes.

HighConnect

Validation of a technology manufacturing-ready integration of nano-dimensional of Silicon Photonics in hybrid electrical-optical Circuit Boards

HyPOT

Goal of the project was to enable a glass interposer for 25Gb/s/ch including through glass vias and high frequency signal optimization. A very high performance is achieved by a new approach for an optical active interposer system.

 

Download

Electro-optical Circuit Board

Selected Publications

2020

Schwietering, J.; Herbst, C.; Kirsch, O.; Arndt-Staufenbiel, N.; Wachholz, P.; Schröder, H.; Schneider-Ramelow, M.: Integrated optical single-mode waveguide structures in thin glass for flip-chip PIC assembly and fiber coupling. https://doi.org/10.1109/ECTC32862.2020.00036

2019

Schröder, H.; Neitz, M.; Schneider-Ramelow, M.: Demonstration of glass based photonic interposer for mid-board-optical engines and electro-optical circuit board (EOCB) integration strategy. https://doi.org/10.1117/12.2297363

Neitz, M.; Röder-Ali, J.; Marx, S.; Herbst, C.; Frey, C.; Schröder, H.; Lang, K.-D.: Insertion Loss Study for Panel-Level Single-Mode Glass Waveguides. https://doi.org/10.1117/12.2252802

2016

Brusberg, L.; Neitz, M.; Pernthaler, D.; Weber, D.; Sirbu, B.; Herbst, C.; Frey, C.; Queisser, M.; Wöhrmann, M.; Manessis, D.; Schild; B.; Oppermann, H.; Eichhammer, Y.; Schröder, H.; Håkansson, A.; Tekin, T.: Electro-optical circuit board with single-mode glass waveguide optical interconnects. https://doi.org/10.1117/12.2208103

Brusberg, L.; Whalley, S.; Pitwon, R.; Faridi, F.; Schröder, H.: Large Optical Backplane With Embedded Graded-Index Glass Waveguides and Fiber-Flex Termination.  https://doi.org/10.1109/JLT.2016.2529651

2003

Schröder, Henning; Arndt-Staufenbiel, Norbert; Cygon, Manfred; Scheel, Wolfgang (2003 pp. 1053-1059.): Planar Glass Waveguides for High Performance Electrical-Optical-Circuit-Boards (EOCB) - The Glass-Layer-Concept. The Glass-Layer-Concept. 53rd Electronic Components and Technology Conference. 53rd Electronic Components and Technology Conference, 2003. Proceedings., New Orleans, Louisiana, USA, 2003 pp. 1053-1059.

1999

Krabe, Detlef; Scheel, Wolfgang (Hg.) (1999): Optical interconnects by hot embossing for module and PCB technology - the EOCB approach. 49th Electronic Components and Technology Conference. San Diegeo, California, June 1-4.  10.1109/ECTC.1999.776342

Elektro-optische Leiterplatte (EOCB)

© Fraunhofer IZM
Illuminierte Lichtwellenleiter
© Fraunhofer IZM
Prozesskette zur Integration von Lichtwellenleitern in großformatiges Dünnglas

3 Themenfelder motivieren den Bedarf

  1. Die moderne Telekommunikationstechnik erfordert erhebliche technologische Fortschritte im Bereich der photonischen Aufbautechnik, um dem enormen Wachstum an Daten gerecht zu werden. Diese Fortschritte müssen insbesondere in Datenzentren erzielt werden, die als Kontenpunkte die größten Datenströme verteilen. Jedoch auch in beispielsweise autonom fahrenden Fahrzeugen müssen große Datenmengen verarbeitet und verteilt werden.
  2. In vielen Forschungsbereichen wächst der Einsatz von optischer Sensorik. Dafür werden meist Freistrahlaufbauten oder Glasfasern eingesetzt. Diese können jedoch unter Zuverlässigkeitsproblemen, insbesondere im Hinblick auf mechanische Stabilität, leiden und weisen oft eine geringe Integrationsdichte auf.
  3. Die Quantentechnologie stellt in vielen Anwendungen hohe Anforderungen an die Dimensionsstablität der eingesetzten Materialen über einen breiten Temperaturbereich, an ein hermetisches Packaging und eine hohe Transparenz über einen breiten Wellenlängenbereich.

Lösungsansatz

Die Kombination aus elektrischen und optischen Lagen in einer Leiterplatte oder einem Chip bietet Lösungen für die genannten Probleme an. Das Fraunhofer IZM hat bereits 1999 das Konzept einer solchen elektro-optische Leiterplatte vorgestellt und forscht bis heute daran. Seit 2003 wird die optische Lage aus kommerziell verfügbaren großformatigen Dünngläsern gefertigt.

Mit elektrisch-optischen Leiterplatten kann das große Potential der optischen Signalübertragung auch auf Leiterplatten- und Chip-Ebene ausgeschöpft werden. In der Telekommunikationstechnik können in die optische Lage integrierten Lichtwellenleiter die Signale von Glasfasern aufnehmen und bis zu auf der Leiterplatte befindlichen Bauteilen leiten. Solche elektrischen und optischen Umverdrahtungslagen werden in aktuell viel beachteten Konzepten wie dem co-packaging benötigt. In der optischen Sensorik können solche  Lichtwellenleiter, die Licht gezielt in Wechselwirkungen mit Analyten bringen, genau wie die für viele Anwendungen hervorragenden Eingeschalten von Glas im Hinblick auf Biokompatibilität und chemisches Resistenz, vielfältig eingesetzt werden. Dabei wird durch die Integration in ein Dünnglas die mechanische Stabilität im Vergleich zu Fasern erhöht und die Vermeidung aufwändiger Strahlformungs- und führungsaufbauten erhöht die Integrationsdichte. In Anwendungen der Quantentechnologie bietet die Kombination aus elektrischer und optischer Funktionalisierung von Glas vielfältige Möglichkeiten um optische Aufbauten von der optischen Bank auf die Systemebene zu bringen.

In den vergangenen mehr als 20 Jahren wurden im Fraunhofer IZM in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Forschungs- und Industriepartnern ein Prozess entwickelt, der unter Verwendung von kommerziellem Equipment die Fertigung elektrisch-optischer Leiterplatten mit den folgenden Spezifikationen ermöglicht:

  • Boardgröße: bis zu 457 x 305 mm2
  • Boarddicke: 300 – 700µm
  • optische Lage
  • Gradientenindexwellenleiter
  • mono- und mehrmodig
  • Ausbreitungsverluste <0,6 dB/cm (@1550nm)
  • transparent für 400 – 1600 nm
  • elektrische Lage
  • strukturierte Metalllagen: Al, Cr, Cu, Tu, Wti
  • line-space: bis zu 3µm
  • galvanischer Aufbau: Ag, Au, Cu, Ni
image LIDAR
© Fraunhofer IZM | Volker Mai
Elektrisch funktionalisiertes Glasboard für eine LIDAR Anwendung

Projekte im Bereich EOCB

SEPIANet

Ziel des Projekts war die Entwicklung von Technologielösungen für eingebettete optische Architekturen in Head-End-Systemen von Zugangsnetzen, die eine erhebliche Verringerung des Stromverbrauchs, eine höhere Energieeffizienz, eine größere Systemdichte und eine Skalierbarkeit der Bandbreite ermöglichen, was in den heutigen kupferbetriebenen Zugangsnetzsystemen derzeit nicht möglich ist.

PhoxTroT

Große Rechenzentren und Supercomputer sollen bald wesentlich kosten- und energieeffizienter und zugleich noch leistungsfähiger werden. Dieses ehrgeizige Ziel haben sich Fraunhofer-Wissenschaftler und 17 Partner aus Wirtschaft und Forschung in dem EU-Projekt „PhoxTroT“ gesetzt.

HighConnect

Validierung eines Verfahrens zur fertigungstauglichen Integration von nanodimensionalen photonischen Chips in hybride elektro-optische Baugruppen

HyPOT

Erfolgreich erreichtes Ziel des Projektes war es, einen glasbasierten Interposer mit einer Übertragungsrate von 300Gb/s zu entwickeln. Dabei standen optische und Hochfrequenzeigenschaften sowie die Erzeugung von Through-Glass-Vias im Mittelpunkt.

 

Download

Elektro-optische Leiterplatte

Ausgewählte Veröffentlichungen

2020

Schwietering, J.; Herbst, C.; Kirsch, O.; Arndt-Staufenbiel, N.; Wachholz, P.; Schröder, H.; Schneider-Ramelow, M.: Integrated optical single-mode waveguide structures in thin glass for flip-chip PIC assembly and fiber coupling. https://doi.org/10.1109/ECTC32862.2020.00036

2019

Schröder, H.; Neitz, M.; Schneider-Ramelow, M.: Demonstration of glass based photonic interposer for mid-board-optical engines and electro-optical circuit board (EOCB) integration strategy. https://doi.org/10.1117/12.2297363

Neitz, M.; Röder-Ali, J.; Marx, S.; Herbst, C.; Frey, C.; Schröder, H.; Lang, K.-D.: Insertion Loss Study for Panel-Level Single-Mode Glass Waveguides. https://doi.org/10.1117/12.2252802

2016

Brusberg, L.; Neitz, M.; Pernthaler, D.; Weber, D.; Sirbu, B.; Herbst, C.; Frey, C.; Queisser, M.; Wöhrmann, M.; Manessis, D.; Schild; B.; Oppermann, H.; Eichhammer, Y.; Schröder, H.; Håkansson, A.; Tekin, T.: Electro-optical circuit board with single-mode glass waveguide optical interconnects. https://doi.org/10.1117/12.2208103

Brusberg, L.; Whalley, S.; Pitwon, R.; Faridi, F.; Schröder, H.: Large Optical Backplane With Embedded Graded-Index Glass Waveguides and Fiber-Flex Termination.  https://doi.org/10.1109/JLT.2016.2529651

2003

Schröder, Henning; Arndt-Staufenbiel, Norbert; Cygon, Manfred; Scheel, Wolfgang (2003 pp. 1053-1059.): Planar Glass Waveguides for High Performance Electrical-Optical-Circuit-Boards (EOCB) - The Glass-Layer-Concept. The Glass-Layer-Concept. 53rd Electronic Components and Technology Conference. 53rd Electronic Components and Technology Conference, 2003. Proceedings., New Orleans, Louisiana, USA, 2003 pp. 1053-1059.

1999

Krabe, Detlef; Scheel, Wolfgang (Hg.) (1999): Optical interconnects by hot embossing for module and PCB technology - the EOCB approach. 49th Electronic Components and Technology Conference. San Diegeo, California, June 1-4.  10.1109/ECTC.1999.776342