Wafer Level System Integration

Key Research Areas // High Density Assembly

High Density Assembly

Assembly and interconnect technology has to meet different requirements from microelectronics, MEMS, photonics, RF and power electronics and deals accordingly with Si, SiC, GaN, GaAs, InP, Ge and other semiconductor materials. Reflow soldering, transient liquid phase bonding (TLPB), thermocompression and thermosonic bonding are the favored interconnection methods for flip chip attach.

Assembly and interconnection technologies applied to 3D systems are strongly affected by IC technology nodes. Key parameters include die size, number of I/O, pad geometries, passivation layers, wafer-surface topologies, terminal pads and limitations to the thermal budgets that can be applied during assembly. Additional challenges in assembly and interconnect technologies for 3D systems include alignment accuracy, yield requirements and productivity that meet the demands of cost effective manufacturing.

Furthermore, WLSI has broad experience in fluxless assembly methods for photonics and MEMS as well as in hermetical sealing. Precision bonding with an alignment accuracy of 1 µm will be achieved for photonic applications using either thermode bonding with high positioning accuracy or with solder-assisted self-alignment methods – with or without mechanical stops.

 

 

 

Focus of Research

  • 3D IC assembly with high-density interconnects (> 1000 I/O) and ultra-fine pitch (> 25 μm)
  • IC assembly with thin and ultra-thin chips (>50 μm)
  • Solder assisted self-alignment with and without mechanical stops
  • Precision bonding
  • Transient liquid phase bonding
  • Thermocompression & thermosonic bonding Cu-Cu, Au-Au, In
  • Hybrid bonding technologies
  • Assembly of ultra-small chips & collective bonding approaches

 

 

 

Projects in this Research Area

Projects

Gold TSV Technology

PARADIGM

Projects

μ-structured luminous Diodes for innovative adaptive Headlights

µAFS

Wafer Level System Integration

Forschungsschwerpunkte // High-Density Assembly

High-Density Assembly

Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnologien müssen den unterschiedlichsten Erfordernissen von mikroelektronischen Systemen, MEMS, Photonics, RF und Leistungselektronik gerecht werden und entsprechend mit Si, SiC, GaN, GaAs, InP, Ge und anderen Halbleitermaterialien umgehen können. Reflow-Löten, Transient-Liquid-Phase-Löten (TLPB), Thermocompression-Bonden und Thermosonic-Bonden sind die bevorzugten Verbindungsmethoden für das Flip-Chip-Bonden.

Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnologien für 3D-Systeme sind insbesondere abhängig vom Technologieknoten: Schlüsselparameter sind u.a. Chipgröße, Anzahl I/O, Pad-Geometrien, Passivierungs-Schichten, Waferoberflächentopologien, Anschlusspads und Begrenzungen beim thermischen Budget, die während des Assembly-Prozesses eine Rolle spielen. Zusätzliche Herausforderungen in den Aufbau-und Verbindungstechnologien für 3D-Systeme stellen die Ausrichtungsgenauigkeit, Ausbeuteanforderungen und Leistungsfähigkeit dar, die den Anforderungen einer kosteneffektiven Herstellung nachkommen müssen.

Darüber hinaus verfügt die Abteilung über umfangreiches Know-how für das flussmittelfreie Assemblieren in der Photonik, für MEMS sowie beim hermetischen Versiegeln. Für photonische Anwendungen kann ein Präzisionsbonden mit einer Genauigkeit von 1 µm mittels Thermoden-Bondens oder mit lötunterstützten Selbstausrichtungsmethoden – mit oder ohne mechanische Stops – erzielt werden.

Forschungsfokus

  • 3D-IC-Assembly mit high-density Interconnects (> 1000 I/O) und ultra-fine Pitch (> 25 μm)
  • IC-Assembly mit dünnen und ultra-dünnen Chips (> 50 μm)

Projekte

μ-structured luminous Diodes for innovative adaptive Headlights

µAFS

Projekte

Gold TSV Technology

PARADIGM