Optical Sensors

© Fraunhofer IZM

Optical sensing has great potentials of high resolution, electromagnetic immunity, electrical isolation and wide dynamic range. Such features make optical sensors of great importance in applications such as telecommunications, aerospace, medicine, environmental and atmospheric monitoring. An optical sensor consists mainly of four parts: an optical source (LED, laser diode), a sensing element (optical fibers, planar optical waveguides, and 3D optical microresonators), and optical detector (optical spectrum analyzer, oscilloscope) and data processing.

At Fraunhofer, small optical sensors based on optical fibers and optical microresonators are explored in fields of aerospace, gas detection and medical diagnostics. Low-cost manufacturing, assembling and packaging strategies of such high-sensitivity optical sensors are deeply investigated to bring them to the industrial sector.

Optical microresonators

Optical microresonators based on whispering gallery modes are powerful sensing platforms for applications, such as medical diagnostics, food safety, gas detection, environmental monitoring and inertial sensors.

Fiber optic gyroscopes

Inertial sensors are used to measure rotations with high accuracy and high precision for industrial applications as such automotive and aerospace.

Download

Fiber Optic Interconnects and Sensors

Projects

 

Project

PHOCNOSIS

The PHOCNOSIS project aims at the development and the preclinical validation of a nanotechnology-based handheld point-of-care testing (POCT) analysis device for its application in the early diagnosis of cardiovascular diseases (CVD).

 

Project

InSPECT

The InSPECT project aims at developing and integrating photonic building blocks for a new class of low-cost miniaturized spectral tissue sensing devices.

Optische Sensorik

© Fraunhofer IZM

Die optische Sensorik bietet großes Potenzial in Richtung hohe Auflösung, elektromagnetischer Unempfindlichkeit, elektrische Isolierung in einem großen Dynamikbereich. In Anbetracht dieser besonderen Eigenschaften wird die Wichtigkeit bei Anwendungen wie Telekommunikation, Luft- und Raumfahrt, Medizin, Umwelt- und Atmosphärenüberwachung deutlich. Ein optischer Sensor setzt sich hauptsächlich aus vier Bestandteilen zusammen: einer optischen Quelle (LED, Laserdiode), einem Messaufnehmer (optische Fasern, planare optische Wellenleiter und optische 3D-Mikroresonatoren), einem optischen Detektor (optischer Spektrumanalysator, Oszilloskop) und der Datenverarbeitung.

Kleine, auf optischen Fasern sowie Mikroresonatoren basierende, optische Sensoren werden am Fraunhofer Institut in Bereichen der Luft- und Raumfahrt, Gasdetektion und medizinischer Diagnostik erforscht. Es werden Methoden zur günstigen Herstellung und Montage sowie Verpackungsstrategien von hoch empfindlichen, optischen Sensoren untersucht, um eine Tauglichkeit für den industriellen Sektor zu erreichen.

Optische Mikroresonatoren

Optische Mikroresonatoren finden Verwendung im Bereich der optischen Sensoren für Gasmesstechnik, Bioanalytik und Drehratensensoren als auch Drehwinkelsensoren.

Optische Drehratensensoren (Gyroskope)

Das Fraunhofer IZM erforscht und entwickelt integrierte optische Gyroskope für die hohen und höchsten Genauigkeitsklassen der Drehratensensoren.

Download

Fiber Optic Interconnects and Sensors

Projekte

 

Phocnosis

Das PHOCNOSIS Projekt zielt auf die Entwicklung und die vorklinische Überprüfung eines Nanotechnologie-basierten, tragbaren Vor-Ort-Diagnose-Geräts (POCT) für die Anwendung in der Frühdiagnose von kardiovaskulären Erkrankungen (CVD) ab.

 

InSPECT

Das Ziel des InSPECT-Projekts ist die Entwicklung und Integrierung photonischer Bausteine für eine neue Art von miniaturisierten, kostengünstigen spektralen Gewebeanalyse-Geräten..