Project - MEMo

Photonic assembly: Active alignment of laser modules

Close cooperation between the Optical Interconnection Technology working group and its industrial partners Eagleyard and FISBA Photonics has led to the successful conclusion of the publicly funded ProFIT development project MEMo. The aim of the project was to develop a new type of automated assembly concept to couple a multiemitter laser-chip module to an optical fi ber with a core diameter of less than 100 µm, for example for medical applications at a wavelength of 1470 nm, and with optical powers of up to typically 10 W.

Fraunhofer IZM’s main task was to develop the setup and adjustment processes of the special micro-optics needed for laser beam formation and effi cient fi ber coupling on the optical bench within the laser module. The processes are executed on a specially enhanced industrial active alignment machine, promising very good usability of the results. Active alignment means, on the one hand, that the laser chip is operated at full power with this laser module setup. On the other hand, during the sequential assembly of the total of four micro-optics needed for beam formation, the current adjustment status is monitored using a high-resolution infrared camera and is converted into fast, precise control signals for a fine-tuning actuator. This actuator can move and turn the lens it is holding through six degrees of spatial freedom at sub-micrometer levels of precision, or a few arc seconds, respectively, which is what is required for optical adjustment within the module.

The project also developed a setup concept in which both the micro-optic bench to be equipped, as well as the holding tools on the fi ne-tuning actuators, are manufactured from laser-cut stacked glass. Laser structuring available at Fraunhofer IZM makes this approach highly adaptable and quick in turn-around. Additional complex optical setups that use the thin-glass concept are being planned; there are also plans to use structured metallization to embed (opto-)electronic components directly.

Assembly of a fiber-coupled multi-emitter laser on a hybrid bench - Photonic assembly: Active alignment of laser modules
© Fraunhofer IZM | Volker Mai
Assembly of a fiber-coupled multi-emitter laser on a hybrid bench

Download

 

Flyer
Photonic Assembly

More information

Working Group

Optical Interconnection Technology

Development of innovative packaging systems comprising microelectronic, optical and microsystems components for tele- and datacom, lighting ans sensors.

Annual Report

Highlights 2016/17

Photonic Assembly - Highlight in the annual report

Key Research Areas

Key Research Areas of the System Integration & Interconnection Technologies (SIIT) Department at glance

Projekt - MEMo

Photonic Assembly: Aufbau von elektro-optischen Modulen

In der Arbeitsgruppe Optical Interconnection Technology wurde in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Industriepartnern Eagleyard und FISBA Photonics das öffentlich geförderte ProFIT-Entwicklungsprojekt MEMo erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Gegenstand des Projektes war die Entwicklung eines neuartigen automatisierten Montagekonzepts zur Kopplung eines Multi-Emitter-Laserchip-Moduls an eine optische Faser mit einem Kerndurchmesser von weniger als 100 µm, z.B. für medizinische Anwendungen bei 1.470 nm Wellenlänge und bis typisch 10 W optischer Leistung.

Die Hauptaufgabe des Fraunhofer IZM bestand in der Entwicklung der Aufbau- und Justageprozesse der für eine Laser-Strahlformung und effi ziente Faserkopplung benö- tigten speziellen Mikro-Optiken auf der optischen Bank im Lasermodul. Die Prozesse wurden auf einem hierfür weiterentwickelten industriellen Active-Alignment-Automaten durchgeführt, so dass eine sehr gute Verwertbarkeit der Ergebnisse gegeben ist. Active Alignment bedeutet hier zum einen, dass bei dem Aufbau des Lasermoduls der Laserchip mit voller Leistung betrieben wird. Zum anderen wird bei der sequentiellen Montage der für die Strahlformung benötigten insgesamt vier Mikro-Optiken der aktuelle Justage-Stand auf einer hochaufl ösenden Infrarot-Kamera verfolgt und in präzise und schnelle Steuersignale für einen Feinstell-Aktor umgesetzt. Dieser Aktor kann die jeweils gehaltene Optik mit sechs Freiheitsgraden im Raum verfahren und verdrehen, mit für die optische Justage im Modul benötigten Genauigkeiten von sub-Mikrometer bzw. einigen Winkelsekunden.

Außerdem wurde im Projekt das Aufbaukonzept entwickelt, sowohl die zu bestückende mikro-optische Bank als auch die anlagenseitigen Greifer an den Feinstell-Aktoren aus gestapeltem Dünnglas anzufertigen, welches durch die am Fraunhofer IZM verfügbare Laser-Strukturierung hochgenau und schnell anpassbar ist. Weitere komplexe optische Aufbauten, die das Dünnglas-Aufbaukonzept nutzen, befi nden sich in Planung, auch sollen durch strukturierte Metallisierungen (opto-)elektronische Komponenten direkt eingebettet werden.  

Mikrooptische Bank aus Metall und Glas zur Faserkopplung eines Multi-Emitter-Laser-Chips
© Foto Fraunhofer IZM | Volker Mai

Mikrooptische Bank aus Metall und Glas zur Faserkopplung eines Multi-Emitter-Laser-Chips

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Arbeitsgruppe

Optische Verbindungstechnik

Entwicklung innovativer Packages für Komponenten und Systemen aus Mikroelektronik, Optik und Mikrosystemtechnik.

Jahresbericht

Highlights 2016/17

Photonic Assembly - Highlight im aktuellen Jahresbericht

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Alles auf einen Blick

Hier finden Sie alle Forschungsschwerpunkte der Abteilung System Integration & Interconnection Technologies (SIIT)