Learning Factory for Ecodesign

European Ecodesign Initiative: Promoting ecological product design in Baltic Sea countries: Development of a transnational learning factory for ecological product design.

WHAT IS THE LEARNING FACTORY ECODESIGN?

The Learning Factory Ecodesign is a practical, creative and interdisciplinary two-day training. During the training you will learn how to develop a circular system and circular business model for a product by following a user-centric ecodesign process. You will use effective ecodesign methods and practices to develop a meaningful product for users, while minimizing its environmental footprint.

WHAT DO WE OFFER?

Training for individuals

In future, the training will be offered twice a year for individual participants. Please refer to our website [LINK: www.ecodesigncircle.eu/resources-for-you/learning-factory-ecodesign] for more details on dates, prices and registration.

 

Training for institutions / companies

In case you are interested in a training within your company, your organization, your association or other interest groups, feel free to contact us at lernfabrik@izm.fraunhofer.de and we can discuss the content and conditions.

We offer the training in English or German.

WHOM IS IT FOR?

The Learning Factory Ecodesign is targeted towards professional product designers and developers, engineers, teachers, design lecturers, start-ups, SMEs, business model developers – in general, actors who are interested in learning how to adopt ecodesign practices and profit from the opportunities arising around the circular economy.

THE DETAILS

How do you develop circular management systems? Our training is based on "learning by doing". In a multidisciplinary team, you will learn to solve complex ecodesign challenges through circular-based thinking. In doing so, you use eco-design methods to develop a product or service while minimizing its environmental footprint. This includes the development of a sustainable, circular-based business model. In addition, you have the opportunity on site to get an insight into manufacturing processes. This illustrates the influence your design decisions have on the environment in the production phase.

At Fraunhofer IZM, you will have the opportunity to gain insight into a production line for microelectronics and to follow the individual process steps. The training can also take place at other locations with a different set up.

Further information can be found on the Start-a-Factory website.

YOUR BENEFIT AS AN INDIVIDUAL PARTICIPANT

  • Intensive and fast introduction into ecodesign and circular Economy through selected and newly developed methods by ecodesign experts
  • Extend your own qualification towards ecodesign, system design, and user centric design
  • Creative, innovative and fun learning approach – learning by doing
  • Straightforward methods – no previous knowledge required
  • Methods are easy to apply in your daily work
  • Methods are universally applicable to (nearly) any industry or product
  • Methods and content are available online (https://sustainabilityguide.eu)
  • Learn with and from others (interdisciplinary approach)
  • Connect to other experts from different industries, positions, and business areas
  • Get to know ecodesign experts from Fraunhofer IZM

YOUR BENEFITS AS A COMPANY OR INSTITUTION

  • Stay competitive – profit from the opportunities of the Circular Economy
  • Use ecodesign as innovation driver – you will be a forerunner
  • Strengthen your image as a sustainable business
  • The methods will help you to optimize processes, products and services and thus save costs, increase customer satisfaction and loyalty, and decrease environmental impacts
  • Interactive and creative training methods for your employees: the methods will help you to strengthen the cooperation across departments through project-based work in interdisciplinary teams
  • This will support the knowledge transfer of eco-design within your company
  • We can come to your premises or you can get to know our institute

THE METHOD: THE ECODESIGN SPRINTWHAT IS THE SPRINT METHOD?

Participants will go through an Ecodesign Sprint. The Ecodesign Sprint is a process that marries the best of user-centered innovation and design thinking with sustainable design practices - divided into the six distinct phases Introduction, Discover, Define, Develop, Deliver and Validate. We have adapted the Design Sprint methodology and integrated ecodesign practices and lifecycle thinking. Design thinking was developed by IDEO and Stanford’s design school and utilized by Google Ventures Design Sprint Methods.

1. Introduction Ecodesign basics and craft a challenge to provide focus to the rest of the sprint.
2. Discover Understand the needs and challenges.
3. Define Define the problem: Translating research insights into opportunities for Design.
4. Develop Ideate: Generate ideas for solutions for the problem.
5. Deliver Prototype it in the Circular Lifecycle Canvas by looking at the whole system. Build the solution.
6. Validate Track learnings and validate it. Build the Circular Business Model.

WHO ARE WE?

In addition to other speakers and moderators, the main authors of Learning Factory Ecodesign are Mr. Tapani Jokinen and Dr. Max Marwede.                                                                             

Tapani Jokinen

Tapani Jokinen is Design Consultant, Strategic- & Ecodesign contractor in Fraunhofer IZM and owner of TJ-Design, a creative consultancy that fuses strategic innovation and design with sustainability and ethical business to drive positive impact at global level. Furthermore, he is Chief Design Officer at Circular Devices, the Finnish start-up behind sustainable Puzzlephone concept. Tapani is one of the authors of the Ecodesign Learning Factory program where he teaches and facilitates training modules, innovation workshops and lecturing about circular design in seminars and conferences.

Tapani has unique skills to apply design and lifecycle thinking to accelerate Minimum Harmful Products (MPH) and Services and drive sustainability-led innovation in practice, which answers to the growing global demand for more sustainable products and helping companies in transition from linear to circular economy.

 

Dr. Max Marwede

Dr. Max Marwede is Research Fellow at the Fraunhofer Institute for Reliability and Microintegration (Fraunhofer IZM) and holds a PostDoc position in the Junior Research Group „Obsolescence as a challenge for sustainability – causes and alternatives“ at the Technical University Berlin. As a PostDoc he develops an eco-innovation process for long-living products. As part of the department “Environmental and Reliability Engineering” of the Fraunhofer IZM and as a freelancer he supports companies in designing sustainable products and consults German and European public authorities on future eco-design requirements.

He has experience with technology roadmapping, interdisciplinary stakeholder cooperation and project management in industry-oriented research projects in various technology fields (automation technologies, renewable energies and electronics). Part of his work is to facilitate and moderate eco-innovation processes and train engineers and designers how to develop sustainable products. For the latter, Max created the Learning Factory Ecodesign together with Tapani Jokinen.

WHAT HAPPENED SO FAR?

In 2017, two test runs took place at Fraunhofer IZM in Berlin. First, we invited students for a one-day Ecodesign Sprint, where we successfully tested new tools and methods for generating environmentally friendly innovations. The second pilot training, with a duration of two days, took place in October 2017 with professionals. There we gathered more in depth feedback of the participants, to improve the training furthermore. The teams created impressive results by prototyping circular systems by using a circular lifecycle canvas. Based on this they developed circular business models to maximize the business impact and customer value of their systems.

In 2018, four workshops took place already, with one located in Lithuania. All these workshops helped to further improve the Learning Factory EcoDesign.

Support and Partner

The training was developed within the EU-project EcoDesign Circle by ecodesign experts from Fraunhofer IZM and Circular Devices during 2016 and 2017 commissioned by the German Environment Agency. The project Learning Factory Ecodesign is carried on behalf of the UBA until 2018 and is sponsored with resources of the German government (Environmental Research Plan – project number 3715 37 309 0).

Learning Factory for EcoDesign

Project

BMBF Junior Research Group

Obsolescence as a challenge for sustainability

Innovation Workshops / Feasibility Studies

Environmental assessment of electronic products

Product Development Consultation

Eco-design

Lernfabrik Ökodesign

Europäische Ecodesign-Initiative: Förderung ökologischer Produktgestaltung in Ostseeanrainerstaaten: Entwicklung einer transnationalen Lernfabrik zur ökologischen Produktgestaltung.

Die Zukunft von Design ist kreisförmig. Werden Sie Teil dieser Entwicklung und nehmen Sie an der Lernfabrik Ökodesign teil! Die Lernfabrik Ökodesign ist ein Training für Fachleute und Lehrende mit dem Ziel, den Teilnehmern Methoden und Werkzeuge an die Hand zu geben, um Produkte und Dienstleistungen für eine erfolgreiche Kreislaufwirtschaft designen zu können.

WAS IST DIE LERNFABRIK ÖKODESIGN?

Die Lernfabrik Ökodesign ist ein zweitägiges Training, bei dem Sie in einem interaktiven und interdisziplinären Workshop lernen, Kreislaufsysteme und Geschäftsmodelle rund um ein Produkt zu entwickeln, indem Sie einen nutzerzentrierten Ökodesign-Prozess durchlaufen.

WAS BIETEN WIR AN?

Training für individuelle Teilnehmer

Die Lernfabrik Ökodesign soll zukünftig zweimal im Jahr für individuelle Teilnehmer angeboten werden. Bitte entnehmen Sie weitere Informationen zu Terminen, Preisen und Registrierung unserer Internetseite.

Training für Organisationen / Unternehmen

Wenn Sie an einem Training in Ihrer Organisation, Ihrem Unternehmen, Ihrem Verband oder einer anderen Interessengruppe interessiert sind, so können Sie uns gerne kontaktieren, um individuelle Inhalte und Konditionen zu besprechen.

Wir bieten das Training auf Englisch oder Deutsch an.

FÜR WEN IST ES?

Die Lernfabrik Ökodesign richtet sich an Profis aus den Bereichen Produktdesign und -entwicklung, Ingenieurswesen, Marketing und Geschäftsmodellentwicklung – ganz allgemein an alle, die lernen möchten wie man Ökodesign-Methoden anwendet und die die Chancen nutzen wollen, die sich aus der Kreislaufwirtschaft ergeben.

IHRE VORTEILE ALS TEILNEHMER

  • Intensive und schnelle Einführung in Ökodesign und Kreislaufwirtschaft
  • Erweiterung Ihrer eigenen Qualifikation in Richtung Ökodesign
  • Kreativer, innovativer und unterhaltsamer Lernansatz – „learning by doing“
  • Erleichtern Sie sich den Einstieg in das Thema Ökodesign mit von Experten ausgewählten und entwickelten Methoden und vorselektierten Inhalten
  • Die Methoden sind einfach und schnell zugänglich; es wird kein Vorwissen benötigt
  • Die Methoden sind einfach, praktikabel, übertragbar in Ihren Alltag und erfordern keine spezielle Umgebung in der Anwendung
  • Die Methoden sind universell anwendbar, d.h. auf (fast) jede Branche und jedes Produkt
  • Erklärungen zu Methoden, Inhalten und Arbeitsvorlagen sind online unter www.sustainabilityguide.eu verfügbar
  • Lernen Sie mit und von den anderen Teilnehmern
  • Vernetzen Sie sich mit Teilnehmern aus unterschiedlichen Industriezweigen, Positionen und Geschäftsfeldern
  • Lernen Sie Fraunhofer-Experten aus dem Bereich Ökodesign kennen

IHRE VORTEILE ALS UNTERNEHMEN

  • Bleiben Sie wettbewerbsfähig – die Zukunft des Designs ist kreislauffähiges Design
  • Ökodesign als Innovationsprozess – seien Sie Vorreiter!
  • Die Methoden helfen Ihnen, Prozesse, Produkte und Dienstleistungen zu optimieren und somit Kosten zu sparen, die Kundenzufriedenheit zu erhöhen und die Umwelt zu schonen
  • Stärken Sie Ihr Image als umweltfreundliches Unternehmen
  • Interaktive und kreative Ausbildungsmethode für Ihre Mitarbeiter
  • Erweiterung der Qualifikation in Richtung Ökodesign für Ihre Mitarbeiter
  • Die Methoden stärken die Zusammenarbeit interdisziplinärer Teams über Abteilungen hinweg, durch agile und projektbasierte Arbeit
  • Fördern Sie dadurch den Wissenstransfer zu Ökodesign
  • Die Methoden sind universell anwendbar, d.h. auf (fast) jede Branche und jedes Produkt
  • Wir kommen zu Ihnen nach Deutschland, Europa oder global; der Workshop ist auf Englisch und auf Wunsch z.T. auf Deutsch

DIE DETAILS

Wie entwickelt man Kreislaufwirtschaftssysteme? Unser Training basiert auf „learning by doing“: In einem multidisziplinären Team werden Sie durch kreislaufbasiertes Denken, komplexe Ökodesign-Herausforderungen lösen lernen. Dabei wenden Sie Ökodesign-Methoden an, um sinnvolle Produkte oder Dienstleistungen, bei gleichzeitiger Minimierung deren ökologischen Fußabdrucks, zu entwickeln. Dies schließt die Entwicklung eines nachhaltigen, kreislaufbasierten Geschäftsmodells mit ein. Zusätzlich haben Sie vor Ort die Möglichkeit einen Einblick in Herstellungsprozesse zu bekommen. Das soll verdeutlichen, welchen Einfluss auf die Umwelt Ihre Design-Entscheidungen bereits in der Produktion haben.

Am Fraunhofer IZM erhalten Sie die Möglichkeit in eine Fertigungslinie für Mikroelektronik Einblick zu erhalten und die einzelnen Prozessschritte zu verfolgen. Das Training kann aber auch an anderen Standorten mit anderer inhaltlicher Ausrichtung stattfinden.

Weitere Informationen dazu auf der Start-a-Factory Webseite.

DIE METHODE: DER ÖKODESIGN-SPRINT

Die Teilnehmer durchlaufen im Rahmen des Workshops einen Ökodesign-Sprint. In diesem wird das Beste aus nutzerzentrierten Innovationen und „Design-Thinking“ mit nachhaltigen Designmethoden verbunden. „Design-Thinking“ wurde von IDEO und der Stanford Designschule im Rahmen von Google Ventures „Design Sprint Methods“ entwickelt. Wir haben die Design-Sprint-Methode angepasst und Ökodesign-Praktiken sowie Kreislaufbetrachtungen implementiert. Der Sprint ist unterteilt in die sechs Phasen Einführung, Erkennen, Definieren, Entwickeln, Liefern und Validieren.

 

1. Einführung Grundlagen des Ökodesigns und Festlegen einer konkreten Herausforderung (Challenge), die im Sprint bearbeitet wird.
2. Erkennen Bedürfnisse und Herausforderungen verstehen
3. Definieren Definieren der Problemstellung: Gewonnene Erkenntnisse in Chancen für das Design überführen.
4. Entwickeln Ideen entwicklen: Entwicklung von Lösungsansätzen für das Problem.
5. Liefern Prototypisierung der Ansätze auf einer Planwand unter Betrachtung des gesamten Systems. Entwerfen einer Lösung.
6. Validieren Betrachten und Validieren des Erlernten. Entwicklung eines Kreislauf-Geschäftsmodells.

WER SIND WIR?

Neben weiteren Rednern und Moderatoren sind die Hauptautoren der Lernfabrik Ökodesign Herr Tapani Jokinen und Herr Dr. Max Marwede.

 

Tapani Jokinen

Tapani Jokinen ist Designberater sowie Strategie- & Ökodesignexperte am Fraunhofer IZM und Inhaber von TJ-Design, einer Kreativberatung, die strategische Innovation und Design mit Nachhaltigkeit und ethischer Geschäftsführung verbindet, um positive Auswirkungen auf globaler Ebene zu erzielen. Außerdem ist er Chefdesigner bei „Circular Devices“, einem finnischen Startup-Unternehmen hinter dem nachhaltigen „Puzzlephone“-Konzept. Er ist einer der Hauptautoren der Lernfabrik Ökodesign.

Tapani verfügt über besondere Fähigkeiten, Design und Lebenszyklusdenken anzuwenden, um Produkte und Dienstleistungen mit minimaler Schadwirkung zu entwickeln und nachhaltigkeitsorientierte Innovationen in der Praxis voranzutreiben, die der wachsenden globalen Nachfrage an nachhaltigeren Produkten entsprechen und Unternehmen beim Übergang von der linearen zur Kreislaufwirtschaft helfen.

 

Dr. Max Marwede

Dr. Max Marwede ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Fraunhofer-Institut für Zuverlässigkeit und Mikrointegration (IZM) und hat eine Postdoc-Stelle in der Nachwuchsgruppe "Obsoleszenz als Herausforderung für Nachhaltigkeit - Ursachen und Alternativen" an der Technischen Universität Berlin. Als Postdoc entwickelt er einen Öko-Innovationsprozess für langlebige Produkte. Im Rahmen der Abteilung "Environmental and Reliability Engineering" des Fraunhofer IZM unterstützt er als freier Mitarbeiter Unternehmen bei der Gestaltung nachhaltiger Produkte und berät deutsche und europäische Behörden zu zukünftigen Ökodesign-Anforderungen.

Max verfügt über Erfahrungen mit Technologie-Roadmapping, interdisziplinärer Stakeholder-Kooperation und Projektmanagement in industrieorientierten Forschungsprojekten in verschiedenen Technologiefeldern (Automatisierungstechnik, erneuerbare Energien und Elektronik). Ein Teil seiner Arbeit besteht darin, Öko-Innovationsprozesse zu fördern sowie Ingenieure und Designer darin zu schulen, nachhaltige Produkte zu entwickeln. Dafür entwickelte Max zusammen mit Tapani Jokinen die Lernfabrik Ökodesign.

WAS IST BISHER PASSIERT?

Im Jahr 2017 fanden zwei Testläufe am Fraunhofer IZM in Berlin statt. Zum ersten Testlauf wurden Startups und Studenten eingeladen, die einen eintägigen Ökodesign-Sprint erprobten. Darauf folgte ein zweitägiger Testlauf mit Experten aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen und Positionen.

Im Jahr 2018 fanden bereits vier Workshops statt, u.a. beim Fachtag Ökodesign in Dessau sowie bei der „Design Week“ in Kaunas, Litauen. Die Workshops wurden stets individuell den Anforderungen bzgl. Dauer und Umfang angepasst. Dies unterstreicht die Flexibilität des Workshops.

WAS STEHT ALS NÄCHSTES AN?

Weitere Trainings werden 2018/19, bei den Partnern von EcoDesign Circle in Polen und Schweden stattfinden. Die genauen Daten und Anmeldungen finden Sie auch auf unserer Internetseite des EcoDesign Circle  (https://www.ecodesigncircle.eu).

Wenn Sie Interesse an einem individuellen Workshop in Ihrem Unternehmen, Ihrer Organisation, Ihrem Verband oder einer anderen Interessengruppe haben, kontaktieren Sie uns gerne unter lernfabrik@izm.fraunhofer.de um weitere Details zu klären.

Förderung und Partner

Das Training wurde als Teil des EU-Projekts EcoDesign Circle von Ökodesign-Experten vom Fraunhofer IZM und Circular Devices in den Jahren 2016 und 2017 entwickelt und vom Umweltbundesamt in Auftrag gegeben. Das Forschungsvorhaben zur Lernfabrik Ökodesign wird im Auftrag des UBAs bis 2018 durchgeführt und durch Mittel der Bundesregierung gefördert (Umweltforschungsplan - Projektkennzahl 3715 37 309 0).

Learning Factory for EcoDesign

Technologieberatung und Machbarkeitsstudien

Umweltbewertung elektronischer Produkte

Prozess- und Produktentwicklung

Ökodesign elektronischer Produkte