ESTC 2010 - a resounding success!

Berlin, /

With 160 presentations, 4 poster sessions, a 3-day industry exhibition, workshops and short courses, ESTC 2010 was truly an immersive experience for the over 480 conference delegates participating. No matter what your background in microsystem packaging, this year’s conference had something for everyone. We are particularly pleased that the conference participants, representing 34 different countries, came from industry and academia in equal part and, based on the networking observed on the conference floor and at the social events, it seems everyone went home with new contacts, insights and inspiration.

Among the many highlights of the conference the gala dinner at Meilenwerk stood out, with car fans and aesthetes alike marveling at classic cars from bygone eras. It was also a great chance to farewell one of our industry’s pioneers, Herbert Reichl, who received a special award for his long-term and significant contributions to microsystem packaging. Jorma Kivilahti, who was to be honored with the IEEE Section 8 Award, had unfortunately been taken ill and Mervi Palasto from Aalto University accepted the award in his place.

Our congratulations go to the winners of the Best Paper Award (Yoichiro Kurita et. al. from Renesas Electronics Corporation) on Fan-Out Wafer-Level Packaging with Highly Flexible Design Capability and Best Poster Award (M. Bouchoucha et. al. from STMicroelectronics) on Through Silicon Via Polymer Filling for 3D-WLP Applications. The awards were presented together with a cheque at the end of the conference by conference chair Rolf Aschenbrenner and program chair Eric Beyne.

We would like to thank all participants for ensuring ESTC 2010 was such a resounding success and look forward to what will surely be another standout ESTC in Amsterdam in 2012.

For further information please go to:

Last modified: