High-Precision Assembly of Micro-Optical Components

Automated assembly and alignment of micro-optical benches and assembly platforms; laser beam forming

Micro-Optical Benches/ Industrial assembly equipment by Ficontec
© Fraunhofer IZM

Industrial assembly equipment by Ficontec

Micro-Optical Benches / High-Precision Assembly of Micro-Optical Components / Laser bars on cooled benches for alignment and performance tests
© Fraunhofer IZM

Laser bars on cooled benches for alignment and performance tests

The OIT – Optical Interconnection Technology working group handles the automated assembly and alignment of micro-optical benches and chassis like circuit boards or ceramic and glass substrates. One specific application requiring absolute precision in assembly and gluing / soldering is the integration of lens arrays on laser diode bars with multiple emitters.


Industrial assembly machines



The Ficontec assembly equipment used by the working group can achieve optimum laser coupling with precisely collimated and aligned free beam or fibre coupled lasers (fast and slow-axis collimation and focussing).


Our competences = Your advantage


Extensive automation allows the cost-efficient and fast assembly of even complex optical paths with filters, prisms, and mirrors in standardized photonic platforms. Possible applications include the compact design of coherent receivers in telecommunications.

The assembly machines are designed for industrial use and allow flexible applications from prototype and pre-production manufacturing to small-batch production.


With long-standing empirical experience in photonic assembly and interconnection technology, we are your partner for complex process and product development. We can support you with the optical components capabilities we have added to our established Electronics Manufacturing Services (EMS) portfolio.

A versatile range of interconnection processes, materials, and components is at your disposal to turn your product vision into real-world success. All joining and interconnection processes can be tested for the typical conditions in industrial operations. Additional test cycles for more rugged environments can be implemented, including destructive tests with later analysis.

Projects relating to High-Precision Assembly of Micro-Optical Components

PrOpSys

Optical system production equipment for high performance laser diodes

AutoFly

“Automated assembly and interconnection technology for micro optical modules and butterfly lasers”

KoPho

“Coherent Photonics Berlin”

MEMo

“Multi Emitter Module” - Photonic Assembly: Assembly of electro-optical modules

Präzisionsbestückung mikrooptischer Komponenten

Automatisierte Bestückung und Justage von mikrooptischen Bänken und Aufbauplattformen, Laserstrahlformung

Bestückungsmaschine / Micro-Optical Benches / Industrielle Bestückungsmaschine des Kooperationspartners Ficontec
© Foto Fraunhofer IZM

Industrielle Bestückungsmaschine des Kooperationspartners Ficontec

Micro-Optical Benches/ Präzisionsbestückung mikrooptischer Komponenten/ Automatisierte Bestückung und Justage von mikrooptischen Bänken und Aufbauplattformen, Laserstrahlformung
© Foto Fraunhofer IZM

Laserbarren mit Optik auf gekühlter Bank für Justage und Leistungstest

In der Arbeitsgruppe OIT – optische Verbindungstechnik werden automatisierte Bestückung und Justage von mikrooptischen Bänken, Baugruppenträgern wie Leiterplatten, Keramiken und Glassubstraten durchgeführt. Eine spezielle Anwendung ist das Anbringen von Linsenarrays an Laserdiodenbarren mit mehreren Emittern, die höchste Anforderungen an Montagepräzision und Klebe- bzw. Lötverbindungen stellt.

Industrielle Bestückungsmaschinen


Mit den in der Arbeitsgruppe vorhandenen Ficontec-Bestückungsautomaten wird innerhalb kurzer Prozesszyklen eine optimale Kopplung von Lasern in präzise kollimierte und ausgerichtete Freistrahlen oder in Fasern erreicht (fast- und slow-axis-Kollimation und Fokussierung).

Unsere Kompetenz ist ihr Vorsprung

Dank des hohen Automatisierungsgrades lassen sich kostengünstig und mit kurzen Bestückungszeiten auch komplexe optische Strahlengänge mit Filtern, Prismen und Spiegeln in standardisierten photonischen Aufbauplattformen realisieren. Eine Anwendung ist z. B. der kompakte Aufbau von kohärenten Empfängern für die Telekommunikation.

Die vorhandenen Bestückungsautomaten sind für einen industriellen Einsatz ausgelegt und lassen sich flexibel für den Aufbau von Prototypen und Vorserien-Exemplaren bis hin zur Kleinserienfertigung nutzen.

Auf der Grundlage langjähriger wissenschaftlicher Erfahrung in der photonischen Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik sind wir ein Partner für komplexe Prozess- und Produktentwicklungen und unterstützen Sie gerne mit um optische Komponenten erweiterte Dienstleistungen, wie sie in der Elektronik bereits als „electronics manufacturing services“ (EMS) angeboten werden.

Eine Vielzahl erprobter Verbindungsprozesse, Materialien und Komponenten stehen zur Verfügung, um Ihre Produktidee zu realisieren und zum Erfolg zu führen. Sämtliche Füge- und Verbindungsprozesse können für die typischen späteren Betriebsbedingungen validiert werden. Bei Bedarf können auch erweiterte Testzyklen unter verschärften Umgebungsbedingungen gefahren werden, bis hin zur Zerstörung mit anschließender Analyse.

Projekte im Bereich Präzisionsbestückung mikrooptischer Komponenten

PrOpSys

Produktionstechnologie für Optische Systeme für Hochleistungsdiodenlaser

AutoFly

„Automatisierte Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik von mikrooptischen Modulen und Butterfly Lasern“

KoPho

„Kohärente Photonik Berlin“

MEMo

„Multi Emitter Modul“ - Photonic Assembly: Aufbau von elektro-optischen Modulen