Key Research Areas

Packaging for Power Electronics

Besides die attach soldering and Al heavy wire bonding, new packaging concepts are pursued to built power electronics systems which shall provide improved thermal performance and higher reliability. By replacing the wire bond with an area contact on both sides of the chips the thermal performance can be improved.

Silver sintering is one of the new die attach technologies which result in a higher life time of the whole power package. Silver is ductile, it has a high melting point and a very high thermal conductivity. Therefore, especially for a higher performance and higher operating temperatures Ag sinter joints are very promising. There is another new joining technology currently under development which is referred t as “transient liquid phase soldering” or “bonding” (TLPS or TLPB). The idea behind this technology is that the Sn-based solder is transformed in intermetallic phases which have a higher melting temperature than the solder alloy has had before the joining has been carried out. The higher melting point is necessary to withstand higher operating temperatures or for withstanding subsequent soldering processes during manufacturing.

The wire or ribbon bonds may also be improved regarding their life time. Using Cu wire instead of Al reduces the thermal mismatch between the Si die and the wire bond material. In order to be able to use Cu bonds the power chips have to have a Cu metallization on top. The IZM has the capability to deposit Cu layers on semiconductor wafers using electroplating.

Last not least the power package is accomplished by applying an encapsulation material, which can also be done at the Fraunhofer IZM.

IZM-services relating to packaging and interconnection

  • Die-attach for high-temperature applications (Ag sintering and transient liquid phase bonding)
  • Development of alternative technologies like flip-chip, ultrasonic bonding, Cu heavy wire and ribbon bonding, sandwich assemblies (double-sided cooling of chips
  • Ultrasonic welding of load connections
  • Heavy wire bonding (up to 500 µm) of power modules
  • Ribbon laser bonding 
  • Packaging of GaAs, InP, SiC and GaN, as well as thinned semiconductors
  • Encapsulation of power modules
  • Wafer-level packaging of power semiconductors
  • Embedding of power modules

 

 

 

Advanced driver by Fraunhofer IZM

Miniaturized, Zero-Dead-Time High-Efficiency Drivers for Si, SiC, and GaN Applications.

 

Low-Inductance Packages for Fast-Switching Semiconductors

The Secret for Miniature Converters with High Power Density.

 

Compact converters enabling high power density

Due to the low switching losses when using the novel wide band-gap semiconductor generation made from gallium nitride and silicon carbide, respectively, it is possible to increase the switching frequency of power electronic systems significantly.  

 

Power Electronics - from Chip to System

 

Embedding

Miniaturization and packaging of power electronics by embedding of semiconductor switches into the build-up layers of a printed circuit board has experienced a considerable development throughout recent years. Besides commercialization and the introduction of the first products into the market, there are still a number of interesting new concepts under scientific and technological investigation.

Laser microwelding

Laser microwelding based on a fully automatic wire bonder for processing ribbon of copper, aluminium, nickel, gold, silver and platinum with widths up to 2 mm and thicknesses up to 0.5 mm Particularly suitable for vibrating or pressure-sensitive substrates, such as battery contacts. Module size maximum 650 mm × 350 mm, accuracy ≤ ±5 µm, industrial welding monitor for process control. Use of this method also in connection with process development and quality assessment even after mechanical or thermal aging.

Projects

ULTIMO

Ultra-Compact, Ultra-Reliable Power Module

We are working with automotive manufacturers and suppliers to design and manufacture an ultra-compact power module with double-sided cooling for high power density applications as part of an industry-based research consortium on “Improving energy efficiency using power electronics”, which is funded by the German federal ministry of education and research (BMBF).

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik für die Leistungselektronik

Der Aufbau von Leistungsmodulen umfasst heute nicht nur das flächige Löten und Al-Dickdrahtbonden. Neue Aufbaukonzepte mit optimiertem thermischen Design wie die doppelseitige Kühlung sind genauso in der Entwicklung wie neue Verbindungstechnologien, von denen man sich eine höhere Lebensdauer erhofft.

Indem man die flächige Verbindung durch Silbersintern herstellt (Ag hat einen hohen Schmelzpunkt, ist duktil und hat eine sehr hohe thermische Leitfähigkeit), kann man die Lebensdauer deutlich erhöhen. Gerade für hohe Betriebstemperaturen sind reine Silberverbindungen daher von großem Interesse. Es gibt aber auch noch andere Technologien, wie das „Transient Liquid Phase Soldering/Bonding“. Hierbei wird Sn-Basis-Lot verwendet, das während des Lötens bzw. bei der Erstarrung oder während nachgeschalteter Tempervorgänge sich vollständig in höher schmelzende intermetallische Phasen umwandelt. Dieses Prinzip kann sowohl mit Pasten als auch bei Anwendung sehr dünner Schichten angewendet werden.

Draht- oder Bändchenbondkontakte können ebenfalls noch weiter in ihrer Lebensdauer gesteigert werden. Hier ist vor allem Das Cu-Dickdrahtbonden von Interesse, wofür auf der Chipoberseite eine Cu-Schicht notwendig ist. Am Fraunhofer IZM können galvanische Cu-Schichten auf Leistungshalbleitern abgeschieden werden.

Letztendlich rundet die Verkapselungstechnik das technologische Angebot auf dem Gebiet der AVT für die Leistungselektronik ab, so dass ganze Leistungselektronischen Systeme am Fraunhofer IZM aufgebaut werden können.

IZM-Services im Bereich Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik

  • Die-Attach für Hochtemperaturanwendungen
    (Silbersintern und Transient Liquid Phase Bonding)
  • Entwicklung alternativer Technologien wie Flip-Chip, Ultraschallbonden, Cu-Dickdraht- oder Bändchenbonden, Sandwichaufbauten (doppelseitige Chipkühlung)
  • Ultraschallschweißen von Lastanschlüssen
  • Dickdrahtbonden bis 500 µm von Leistungsmodulen
  • Laserbonden von Bändchen 
  • Aufbautechnologien für GaAs, InP, SiC und GaN sowie gedünnte Halbleiter
  • Wafer-level Packaging von Leistungshalbleitern
  • Einbetten von Leistungshalbleitern
 

Innovative Treiber vom Fraunhofer IZM

Das vom Fraunhofer IZM vorgestellte Konzept zeigt neue Ansätze für schnellschaltende Leistungshalbleiter mit geringeren Schaltverlusten durch die Vermeidung negativer Effekte durch Freilaufdioden.

 

Niederinduktive Packages für schnell schaltende Halbleiter

Die Grundlage für kleine Umrichter mit hoher Leistungsdichte

 

Kompakte Umrichter mit hoher Leistungsdichte

Die neu entwickelte Halbleitergeneration auf Galliumnitrid- und Siliziumkarbid-Basis bietet auf Systemebene angesichts ihrer geringen Schaltverluste die Möglichkeit, die Schaltfrequenzen von leistungselektronischen Systemen signifikant zu erhöhen.

 

Leistungselektronik - Vom Chip zum System

 

Einbetten

Die Miniaturisierung und das Packaging von Leistungselektronik durch die Einbettung der Halbleiter in die Aufbaulagen einer Leiterplatte haben in den vergangenen Jahren eine beachtliche Entwicklung durchlaufen. Neben der Kommerzialisierung und ersten Produkteinführungen werden jedoch weiterhin unterschiedliche weitergehende Konzepte und ihre wissenschaftlichen und technologischen Grundlagen entwickelt und erprobt.

Lasermikroschweißen

Lasermikroschweißen auf Basis eines vollautomatischen Drahtbonders zur Verarbeitung von Bändchen aus Kupfer, Aluminium, Nickel, Gold, Silber und Platin mit Breiten bis zu 2 mm und Dicken bis zu 0.5 mm. Besonders geeignet für schwingende oder druckempfindliche Substrate, wie z. B. Batterieankontaktierung. Baugruppengröße maximal 650 mm × 350 mm, Genauigkeit ≤ ±5 µm, industrieller Schweißmonitor zur Prozessüberwachung. Nutzung dieses Verfahrens auch in Verbindung mit einer Prozessentwicklung und Qualitätsbeurteilung auch nach mechanischer oder thermischer Alterung.

Projekte im Bereich Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik für die Leistungselektronik

ULTIMO

Kompaktes Leistungsmodul mit hoher Zuverlässigkeit

In Zusammenarbeit mit Automobilbauern und -zulieferern konzipiertes und aufgebautes ultrakompaktes, doppelseitig gekühltes Leistungsmodul