IEEE Awards for four Fraunhofer IZM scientists

Berlin, /

Dr. Ivan Ndip
Dr. Michael Töpper
Dr. Tolga Tekin

Fraunhofer IZM’s profile within the world’s largest professional association of engineers “Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)” was high in 2012, with four of the institute’s scientists singled out for special recognition. Ivan Ndip, Tolga Tekin and Michael Töpper were promoted to Senior Members and Rolf Aschenbrenner was named IEEE Fellow.

Tolga Tekin heads the Fraunhofer IZM research group Photonic and Plasmonic Systems, which focuses on the use of photonic systems in ICT. Michael Töpper is the current Chair of the IEEE Technical Committee of Wafer Level Packaging. His Fraunhofer IZM research group investigates and develops wafer-level processes. He was also appointed Research Associate Professor by the University of Utah in 2006. Ivan Ndip’s area of specialty is high-frequency technology. He heads the research group RF & High-Speed System Design and was recently named Technical Chair of IMAPS 2013, which will be held in Orlando this October.

Since the start of the year, all three hold IEEE Senior Member status, which is the most senior level of IEEE membership and is only awarded to scientists widely regarded as experts by their peers.

Rolf Aschenbrenner

Fraunhofer IZM Deputy Director Rolf Aschenbrenner was singled out for a special honor – in recognition of his considerable contribution to microelectronic packaging, the scientist was named IEEE Fellow. Just 300 of IEEE’s 400,000 members are named Fellows each year.
His showed indefatigable commitment to internationalizing the CPMT (Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology Society) while serving as member of IEEE chapter’s Board of Governors by working to expand membership and establish new chapters. Rolf Aschenbrenner has held various senior posts within IEEE CPMT since 2003, including as Vice President Conferences (2005 - 2009) and as IEEE CPMT President (Jan. 2010 - Dec. 2011).

Last modified: